Knitwasabi


« Flowers | Home

Yarniversary

I haven’t been posting here as much, due to well-documented family issues, but I couldn’t let today pass without saying

Happy Yarniversary, This Is Knit!

About four and a half years ago, I noticed that my online friends (I had more online than offline friends at the time) were really mad into knitting.  I had tried a few years earlier, when a friend’s daughter had brought home her knitting homework (knitting homework! This is not something that is done in the US, I can tell you..) and it caught my attention, but I never really did anything with it.  I tried again when pregnant with Eoin, but, again, bad needles and yarn sure didn’t help things.

This time, tho, I mentioned it on my online community.  The lovely Sonia piped up and said “Well, you know that This Is Knit is in Blackrock and they do beginner classes?”  Oh.  Oh really?  Eoin was 6 weeks old at the time, and an afternoon with adults seemed like heaven.  I rang up and booked a place…

When I showed up, it was a cold rainy day, but I remember the twinkle lights in the shed, everything laid out asking to be touched and I distinctly remember Jacqui’s lovely welcoming smile.  I chose my yarn, as instructed, was given needles, and was led to a little room in the Blackrock Market with other 4 folk.  Lisa stood up, and away we went.  The thing I remember most?  Aileen’s bus was late, but she came in knitting a SOCK. ON FOUR NEEDLES.  TINY TINY NEEDLES.

I’ve barely put down the needles since then.  Plus I hung around so much, they ended up giving me a job there! And then they sold the Dublin Dye Company to me and Yvonne!  I’ve gone from the coldcoldcold building in Blackrock to the shops in Powerscourt. I cannot say how much I love my job, but more than that, I love the solid friendships I’ve built from the customers and the other staff there. You all have held up me and my family as we deal with the shite we’ve been dealt, more than you all will ever know.  /sniffle

I wubs ya.

And to Lisa and Jacqui, the amazing dual dynamos, may your next 5 years be even better, with more laughs, events, people and FUN.  So proud for and of you!!!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * sheknitupthat says:

    Awwww! Having a sniffle myself!! See ya in a bit!

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 4 months ago
  2. * Mairead says:

    You have us all in sniffles. Lovely post.

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 4 months ago
  3. * Lois Cowan says:

    Nicely done, Elana….

    …Happy Yarniversary to from Elana’s mom; I look forward to meeting you all and visiting the legendary shop when soon in Ireland…. and thank you all for being there in such an important way for my daughter….

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

